Discovery School, founded in 1983 as a 501 (c)(3) corporation, is a self-governing school. A Board of Trustees holds the corporation of Discovery School in trust. A professional paid staff operates the school. Guidelines for a non-profit clearly define the role of each constituency. Board members determine school policy -- staff members implement policy.

Darren Hollenbaugh, Board Chair
Ann Nesbitt, Vice Chair
Hugh (Flip) Himmelreich, Treasurer
Chris Hyde, Secretary

Steve Bertone
Andrew Biviano
Alexandria Url

Gayle Peterson, School Head
William Moxley, Business Manager
Lisa Foster, Faculty Rep


The Discovery School Board of Trustees membership consists of parents of Discovery School students, professional educators, and other interested community people. The school head is not a member of the Board but is an officer of the corporation. Representatives of the Parent Association and Faculty are invited to regularly attend meetings. All meetings are open to interested observers. 
Classroom Activities
Habitat Studies
Class Trips
Foreign Language
Class Meetings
for Students
for Teachers

for Parents



Discovery School is approved by the Superintendent of Public Instruction and enjoys membership and accreditation through the Pacific Northwest Association of Independent Schools (PNAIS). The 2005-2006 school year is Discovery's 22nd year of educating children in Spokane.
admissions / office

library / business/
School Head

Copyright May 18,1998, Discovery School.
All rights reserved.

Revised February 13, 2006